The Maine Department of Education and Educate Maine have narrowed their list of finalists for Teacher of the Year.

The program celebrates outstanding professional educators in the state.

Nominees had been picked from all 16 Maine counties.

The three finalists are:
-2020 Knox County Teacher of the Year: Alison Babb-Brott, a second grade teacher at St. George School in St. George
-2020 Lincoln County Teacher of the Year: Heather Webster, an English teacher at Medomak Valley High School in Waldoboro
-2020 Cumberland County Teacher of the Year: Cindy Soule, a fourth grade teacher at the Gerald E. Talbot Community School in Portland

The winner is expected to be announced in October.