A ban to ban the intentional release of balloons in Maine is awaiting Gov. Janet Mill’s signature.

If you break the law you could see first time fine anywhere from $100 to $500.

Read Bill LD618

The bill does not include a provision to fine someone who accidentally lets go of a single balloon and also exempts the release of balloons for scientific purposes.

Latest Local Central Maine News »